What is the Valley?

“The Valley” is what locals call the Phoenix Metropolitan Area. It is considered the largest metropolitan area in the Southwest. 

The Valley is made up of various major cities other than Phoenix, including:

El Mirage
Litchfield Park

Whether a city is in the “East Valley” or “West Valley” depends on where it is in relation to Phoenix.

The cities of the Valley have a combined population of 4,845,832 people, according to the 2020 United States Census. This makes it the 11th largest metropolitan area in the country right behind the Boston and Atlanta areas.

How big is Maricopa County?:

Maricopa County is the United States’ 4th largest county in terms of population with 4,485,414 people, according to the 2020 Census.

The county contains around 63% of Arizona’s population and is 9,224 square miles. That makes the county larger than seven U.S. states (Rhode Island, Delaware, Connecticut, Hawaii, New Jersey, Massachusetts and New Hampshire).

One of the largest park systems in the nation is also located in Maricopa County. The county has an estimated 120,000 acres of open space parks that includes hundreds of miles of trails, nature centers and campgrounds.

The county’s seat is located in Phoenix, which is also the state capital and the census-designated 5th most populous city in the United States.

The county was named after the Maricopa, or Piipaash, Native American Tribe.

Arizona is not out of water, despite all those headlines you might read!

Can't WAIT for this to be done! 

How many Native American Tribes are there in Arizona?

Here are 10 fun facts about Arizona!

1. There are 22 national parks and monuments in Arizona.

2. There are more than 100 wineries and 22 varietals of wine produced in Arizona.

3. Arizona is home to 75+ licensed craft breweries (and growing).

4. Arizona chefs and restaurants have received more than 50 James Beard nominations since 2010

5. Arizona's Sonoran Desert is the only place on earth where the iconic Saguaro cactus grows.

6. Arizona has 35 state parks and natural areas preserving the state's natural, cultural and recreational resources.

7. The Arizona Trail is 800 miles long and is dedicated to hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding and cross-country skiing.

8. Two of the top-rated waterfalls in the United States are located in Arizona: Grand Falls and Havasu Falls.

9. The Grand Canyon National Park is one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World, and the only one located within the United States.

10. According to Travel + Leisure, three of the 10 world's best destination spas are in Arizona (two in Tucson and one in Sedona).

There are 22 Federally Recognized Native Nations in Arizona
1. Ak-Chin Indian Community  2. Cocopah Indian Tribe 3. Colorado River Indian Tribes* 

4. Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation  5. Fort Mojave Indian Tribe*  6. Fort Yuma Quechan Tribe  7. Gila River Indian Community  8. Havasupai Tribe  9. Hopi Tribe  10. Hualapai Tribe  11. Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians  12. Navajo Nation*  13. Pascua Yaqui Tribe  14. Pueblo of Zuni 

15. Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community  16. San Carlos Apache Tribe  17. San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe  18. Tohono O'odham Nation  19. Tonto Apache Tribe  

20. White Mountain Apache Tribe  21. Yavapai-Apache Tribe  22. Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe

​ *Reservation boundaries extend into neighboring states.